Starling的故事

为帮助加强和支持#GivingTuesdayNow在基层水平所做出的努力,GivingTuesday发起了 Starling Fund, 该基金在现任官方社区和国家领导人之中分配了少量的赠款。此项支持涵盖了我们的领导者为#GivingTuesdayNow, 鼓励、鼓舞并激励其所在地区的日常赠与者、企业和非政府组织而所需的重要资源。

我们最终资助了46名GivingTuesday领导者:21名美国境内的申请者和25名境外申请者。我们正重新思考将该试点计划作为Starling Collective,以在我们首次尝试成功的基础上进行发展,同时还将范围扩大至现有GivingTuesday网络之外的运动领导者。

我们为这些领导者能在如此短的时间内获得的成就而感到骄傲,并且我们很期待分享他们的经验。我们希望这些故事可以帮助激发人们的想法和行动,以增加全球共情度。

美国加利福尼亚州洛杉矶

为儿童提供S.T.E.M.学习工具

疫情爆发初期,很多学校关闭,#GivingTuesdayKids的领导人科洛(Khloe)担心年轻人错过STEM教育(科学、工程、技术和数学)。她用她的Starling小额赠款来购买STEM工具包的应用品,并和她的朋友们在公立学校校区组织的免费午餐分配会上分发了工具包。

利比里亚

发起公共卫生运动

尽管因COVID-19危机而带来的实际伤害是巨大的,但战争和埃博拉所带来的创伤却大大加剧了情感上的伤害。GivingTuesday在利比里亚的领导者利用他们的Starling小额赠款,通过广告牌和广播广告来满足利比里亚人的情感需求。广告牌上的广告鼓励医务英雄们往返前线。广播广告则被用来激励大众。这些广告向利比里亚人介绍了#GivingTuesdayNow,提醒他们已经战胜了战争和埃博拉病毒,并希望他们可以成功渡过COVID-19这次危机。领导者的公共服务声明视频鼓励利比里亚人,即便无法近距离接触,但彼此也要利用共情心保持联系:“现在给予,意味着即便在你需要被给予的时候,仍然不忘记给予他人。”

美国俄亥俄州哥伦布

供养人民

在疫情发生的初期,俄亥俄州哥伦布市承受着压力:许多人失业,工作机会仍然稀少,当地政府正在努力满足需求。庇护所的运营水平降低,一些社区组织不得不关门。在他们的#GivingTuesdayNow 项目中,#GivingTuesdayColumbus的组织者们开始了为俄亥俄州哥伦布市2万名有需要的居民提供食物的任务。在Make A Day的带领下,志愿者们组织了他们社区的餐馆、杂货店和小企业一起来筹款和收集食物,这些食物被分发给无家可归者、低收入家庭以及社区发展全民和梦想中心的客户。"我们的社区正在努力适应和发展新的法规和限制,"组织者说。"重要的是,作为领导者,我们继续带着我们社区的所有成员一起前进。而我们通过树立这个榜样,为我们的服务对象、我们的志愿者以及更多的人树立了一个亮点。一个爱心和善意的行为可以像池塘里的鹅卵石产生的涟漪一样传播开来。"

哥伦比亚

会传染的共情心

即便是在疫情爆发之前,哥伦比亚的状况也并不好。三分之一的人民生活在贫困线以下,越来越多的家庭为温饱发愁。直到5月5日,小企业开始陷入困境,人们陆续失业。像其他低收入国家一样,哥伦比亚没有资源来延缓并减轻COVID-19的传播或影响,从而导致卫生保健系统严重失衡。

“Un Dia Para Dar”在哥伦比亚的领导者想要将#GivingTuesdayNow以“Contagia de Esperanza(会传染的共情心)”为主题,将其引进至哥伦比亚。他们鼓舞全国人民以大大小小的方式回馈社会。消防员帮助老年人运送食品和药品,而志愿者则将食物和食品带给一线人员。一个代表哥伦比亚音乐家的代理商组织了一场小型音乐会,在为居民带来欢乐的同时,也为国内的最弱势群体收集食物。一个非营利组织创建了一个#CarvanaDeLaEsperanze(希望之队),为麦德林的邻里带来了必需品和补给品。这项运动鼓舞了成千上万的人来“广施善意”,并甚至在自己一无所有的时候互相扶持。

美国阿肯色州康威

重新安置家庭

ConwayGives是阿肯色州流浪者服务的提供商联盟。他们本身的系统已几近饱和,到疫情爆发时,他们担心居住在康威的很多正常家庭也会变成无家可归的人。六个机构协同合作,通过精简其所在地区的租金援助服务,来避免人们变得无家可归,并集中资源,从而使受到COVID-19影响的家庭能轻松应对这一流程。

ConwayGives的领导者利用其Starling小额赠款,在本地有线网络上进行了大量媒体宣传,以通过CNN将信息及时传达给在家中接受隔离的人民。这些广告告诉人们可以去哪里享受他们的服务,并鼓励有能力的人进行捐赠。组织者的最初目标是筹集35,000美元,但实际筹集到的资金却超过了100,000美元。额外的款项帮助他们重新安置了200个家庭,这些家庭由于COVID-19造成的各种影响而无法负担目前的住房。

加拿大多伦多

一个城市的爱的笔记

受世界各地的人们在窗户上张贴彩虹海报的启发,多伦多Gives组织了一个全市性的艺术项目,以照亮他们的心情,鼓舞他们的士气,并分享希望的信息。

Toronto Gives与食品配送公司和食品配送中心合作,向城市内的社区分发人行横道粉笔,让居民和家庭在保持社交距离的同时,在各自的人行道上向多伦多写下爱心笔记。多伦多的人行道上到处布满了他们爱的笔记。

美国田纳西州杰克逊

带走你需要的,留下你可以给予的

预料到田纳西州杰克逊社区的食物危机将会出现,“ Give Back Jack”的领导者决定将其社区的“免费小图书馆”改造为“免费小食物储藏室”,来为他们存储必需品、供应品和不易腐烂的食品,并免费提供给有需要的人。在收到劳氏 (Lowe's) 的物资捐赠和当地木工的无偿帮助下,他们还建造了8个新盒子,并将其放置在高需求区域处。与当地社会服务组织的合作伙伴关系,将确保新的“福箱”处于储备状态,并在疫情期间为社区内最弱势群体提供需要。

成为GivingTuesday's的一部分 Starling Collective
现在申请

Starling Stories

To help strengthen and support #GivingTuesdayNow efforts at the grassroots level, GivingTuesday launched the Starling Fund, which distributed small grants among the existing cohort of official community and country leaders. This support covered essential resources our leaders needed to encourage, inspire, and uplift everyday givers, businesses, and NGOs in their regions for #GivingTuesdayNow.

We ultimately funded 46 GivingTuesday leaders. We are now re-imagining this pilot program as the Starling Collective to build on the success of our first effort, while also expanding to reach movement leaders beyond the existing GivingTuesday network.

We’re proud of what these leaders were able to accomplish in such a short time, and we are excited to share their experiences. We hope these stories can help spark ideas and action for increasing generosity worldwide.

Los Angeles, California, United States

Delivering S.T.E.M. Learning Kits to Kids

As schools shut down during the early days of the pandemic, #GivingTuesdayKids leader Khloe was worried young people might miss out on STEM (science, engineering, technology and math) education. She used her Starling microgrant to purchase supplies for STEM kits which she and her friends passed out during the public school district’s planned free lunch distribution.

Liberia

Launching a Public Health Campaign

Although the physical toll that would come with the COVID-19 crisis would be significant, the emotional toll has been compounded by trauma from war and Ebola. GivingTuesday Liberia leaders used their Starling microgrant to help tend to the emotional needs of Liberians through inspiring billboards and radio advertisements. The billboard advertisement encouraged healthcare heroes driving to and from the frontlines. The radio advertisements motivated the masses. These advertisements informed Liberians about #GivingTuesdayNow, reminded Liberians that they’ve overcome war and Ebola, and provided hope that they will overcome COVID-19. Their video PSA encouraged Liberians to use generosity to connect with each other even amidst physical distancing:”Giving now means giving even when you need it too.”

Columbus, Ohio, United States

Feed the People

In the early days of the pandemic, the city of Columbus, OH was under stress: many had become unemployed, with job opportunities remaining scarce and local government struggling to keep up with demand. Shelters were operating at reduced levels and some community organizations had to close their doors. For their #GivingTuesdayNow project, the organizers of #GivingTuesdayColumbus set out on a mission to feed 20,000 Columbus, OH residents in need. Led by Make A Day, volunteers organized their community’s restaurants, grocery stores, and small businesses to come together to raise money and collect food which was distributed to the homeless, low income families, and clients of Community Development For All People and the Dream Center. “Our community is working hard to adapt and evolve with new regulations and constraints,” said the organizers. “It is important that as leaders we continue to bring all members of our community forward with us. AND we have been a bright spot for those we serve, our volunteers and many more by setting this example. One act of love and kindness can spread like the ripples from a pebble in a pond.”

Colombia

Contagious Generosity

Even before the pandemic, Colombia had been suffering. Nearly 1 in 3 people live below the poverty line, and an increasing number of families struggle to put food on the table. By the time May 5 arrived, small businesses were struggling and people were losing their jobs. Like other low-moderate income countries, Colombia didn’t have the resources to slow down and mitigate the transmission or impact of COVID-19 resulting in a severely strained health care system.

Un Dia Para Dar Colombia leaders wanted to bring #GivingTuesdayNow to Colombia using the theme “Contagia de Esperanza (Contagious Generosity).” They inspired people all over the country to give back in big ways and small. Firefighters helped deliver food and medications to seniors and volunteers brought food and treats to first responders. An agency that represents musicians in Colombia organized mini concerts that brought joy to residents while collecting food for the country’s most vulnerable. One nonprofit group organized a #CarvanaDeLaEsperanze (Caravan of Hope) that brought basics and supplies to barrios in Medellin. The campaign inspired thousands to ‘catch kindness’ and support each other even if they didn’t have much to give.

Conway, Arkansas, United States

Re-housing Families

ConwayGives is a coalition of homeless service providers in Arkansas. With their system already at capacity, by the time the pandemic hit, organizers feared that Conway’s homeless population would explode with families that had never been homeless before. Six agencies collaborated to prevent homelessness by streamlining rental assistance services in their area and pooled resources in order to make this process easier on families affected by COVID-19.

ConwayGives leaders used their Starling microgrant to run a media blast on their local cable network to reach people where they were – quarantined in their homes while watching CNN. The ads informed people who could use their services of where to go and also inspired donations from those who were able to give. The organizers’ original goal was to raise $35,000 USD but they were able to raise over $100,000 USD. The extra dollars helped them re-house 200 families who were no longer be able to afford their current housing due to compounded circumstances brought about by COVID-19.

Toronto, Canada

Love Notes to a City

Inspired by the rainbow posters that people around the world had been posting in their windows, the TorontoGives organized a city-wide art project to brighten their moods, boost their morale, and share messages of hope.

Toronto Gives partnered with food delivery companies and food distribution centers to deliver packages of sidewalk chalk to neighborhoods around the city, asking residents and families, while maintaining social distance, to write love notes to Toronto on their sidewalks. The sidewalks of Toronto were lined with notes to the city they love.

Jackson, Tennessee, United States

Take What You Need, Leave What You Can

Anticipating a rise in food-insecurity in their Jackson, TN community, Give Back Jack leaders decided to convert their communities’ Little Free Libraries into Little Free Pantries – stocking them with basics, supplies, and non-perishable food items to be given away for free to anyone in need. After receiving a donation of materials from Lowes and the time of a local woodworker, they also built 8 new boxes which were placed strategically in high-need areas. Partnerships with local social service organizations will ensure the new Blessing Boxes will remain stocked and ready for the community’s most vulnerable throughout the pandemic.

Be a part of GivingTuesday's Starling Collective
Apply Now